Oddrun Mahaffey
Pin on Pinterest

The Allen Philharmonic in partnership with the Marinus Ensemble and ensemble75 invites you to its Chamber Concert event, The Trout and Other Transformations, on Sunday, February 22 2015 in the Civic Auditorium of the Allen Public Library located at 300 N. Allen Drive. The concert begins at 7:00pm.  Musical guests include Alex McDonald, Joseph Kuipers, Grace Kang Wollett, Rachel Li McDonald, Scott Sheffler, Chloe Trevor, and Glen McDaniel.

The Evening’s performance includes Franz Schubert’s Quintet in A, op. 114, “Trout”, and Robert Schuman’s Piano Quintet in E-flat, op.44. Pianist, Alex McDonald, in developing this program stated “I always feel that the romantic spirit is what is at the heart of our very best music-- the sounds and feelings of love for nature and each other, and no one does this better than Schubert and Schumann. These communicative chamber pieces explore a full emotional gamut, from the intimate dialogue between the strings to the concerto-like grand encounter between piano and strings”.

The Allen Philharmonic is pleased to welcome violinist Glen McDaniel to the stage as he with members of the ensemble will perform his arrangements of Franz Schubert’s Der Mueller Und Der Bach (The Miller and the Stream); Sam Smith’s Latch; and Hozier’s Take Me to Church.

An alumnus of Allen High School, Glen has been presented as a recitalist and chamber musician across the United States and Europe. He has been able to work with such renowned artists as Vadim Gluzman, John Kimura Parker, William Preucil, Philippe Quint, Kenneth Slowik, and Arnold Steinhardt, as well as the Ying and ENSO Quartets. Most notably, Glen was privileged to perform under the baton of the illustrious violinist, Itzhak Perlman, in a gala concert presented to benefit students of music in the city of Houston, Texas.

Tickets are priced at $20 for Adults and $10 for Students and can be purchased online at

Come be entertained and inspired; we cannot wait to share great music with you!

Oddrun Mahaffey

The Allen Philharmonic is pleased to announce the first concert of our Chamber Series for the 2014-2015 season featuring Chloé Trevor, violin; Oliver Schlaffer, cello; and Jonathan Tsay, piano.   In partnership with Ensemble75, our inaugural concert will take place on Sunday, September 28, 2014 at 7:00 pm in the Civic Auditorium located on the premises of the Allen Public Library 300 N. Allen Drive. 

The evening’s concert performance, entitled Farewells, features the beauty of the music of French Composer Fauré juxtaposed with the passion of the Czech composers Suk and Smetana--an evening of great music you will not want to miss.  The program’s selections, Elegie, Op.23 by Josef Suk,  Faure’s Piano Trio in D minor, Op. 120 and Smetana’s Piano Trio in G minor, Op 15, features music written by each composer as he dealt with the loss of a special person or an event in his life. 

Ensemble75 was founded in the summer of 2010 when a group of young professional musicians met at Steinway Hall Dallas with a goal in mind: to create a playground and laboratory where local emerging classical musicians could collaborate, hone, and share their skills. 

Tickets are priced at $20 for adults and $9.00 for Students and can be purchased at the door or  through the Allen Philharmonic’s website

Oddrun Mahaffey
Pin on Pinterest

The Allen Philharmonic Orchestra & Allen Civic Ballet present the perfect marriage of classical music and ballet with excerpts from one of the world’s most beloved fairy tale ballets, Tchaikovsky’s  The Sleeping Beauty.  Special guest artists from the San Francisco Ballet Tiit Helimets and Sasha de Sola dance the roles of Prince Florimund & Princess Aurora.

Highlights of the evening’s program Drigo’s “Pas de Deux from Diana et Actaeon, danced by Nora Syrome, winner of the 2014 Krassovska Legacy Award; Stravinsky’s “Berceuse” and “Finale” from The Firebird Suite.  Excerpts from Act III of The Sleeping Beauty feature favorite characters Red Riding Hood, the Big Bad Wolf, Puss in Boots and the White Cat; and Princess Florine and her Bluebird, special guests at the wedding of Prince Florimund and Princess Aurora.

For tickets and information please visit our website , or call 972.359.0656.  The evening’s journey into the enchanting world of ballet awaits you.

Oddrun Mahaffey

Join the Allen Philharmonic at 7:30pm on Saturday, April 12, 2014 at First United Methodist Church of Allen as we present a special concert performance that features the Allen Symphony Chorus and the Gold Medalist of this season’s Roger & Ella Jo Adams Concerto Competition. This concert performance, a contrast of light and dark, features the work of Mozart, Saint-Saens, and Rutter, legends in the orchestral and choral repertoire.

The opera The Marriage of Figaro is the first of Mozart's three collaborations with librettist Lorenzo Da Ponte.  Figaro, first presented on the stage of Vienna's Burg Theater in May of 1786, was conducted from the keyboard by Mozart. The Marriage of Figaro Overturegives the listener a delectable foretaste of the mood of its opera: fleet, witty, often acerbic in its humor. Typically Mozart’s overtures would introduce themes appearing later in the work or its ending would fade into the opening measures of the opera. The Marriage of Figaro Overture does none of this; it is self-contained allowing it to be performed as standard orchestral repertoire.

Gold Medalist Jennifer Cho, a junior from Allen High School, will perform the first movement of Camille Saint-Saens’ Violin Concerto No. 3 in B minor, her winning concerto. Written and dedicated to fellow composer-virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, who performed as the soloist at its premiere in 1880, its melodic invention and impressionistic subtlety present interpretive opportunities for the soloist, making it a major work by Saint-Saens that is heard today.

John Rutter's musical career has been replete with a variety of musical compositions, from the most challenging works for choir and orchestra, to relatively simple works suitable for church choirs. O Clap Your Hands, in its first publication, was an anthem for choir and organ.  The fully orchestrated version to be performed at this concert broadens the music’s jubilant text.

Te Deum, one of the most ancient and inspiring of Christian liturgical texts, is a hymn of praise. The title is taken from its opening Latin words, Te Deum laudamus, rendered as "Thee, O God, we praise." The music is jubilant, straightforward, and appealing.

Mozart’s Requiem, one of the giants of the choral/orchestral repertoire, is one of the most mysterious pieces of music ever written. Mozart’s impending death, and his firm belief that the Requiem was killing him, greatly affected the mood of this piece, allowing him to compose his most frightening and compelling masterpiece.

For tickets and information, please visit our website,  Special pricing for students in the performing and visual arts programs in all school districts as well as group discounts are available by contacting the office by e-mail: or by phone:  972.359.0656.